The Continuing Adventures of SuperPreemie

The perils of living with a reader.

Posted on: July 8, 2010

Yesterday on the way to camp, Shoshanna and I stopped off at the library to get her some new books to read. See, we are being the mean parents and only letting her count NEW books for the various reading rewards programs that are being offered this summer. We came home with a bunch of books, almost all of which she had read by the time I dropped her off at camp today.

Out of nowhere this morning, she turned to me and said, “Mommy, what does ‘denny’ mean?” it took me a minute or two to figure out what she was saying, and then I told her that “Denny” is usually a name. She said it wasn’t so I asked her where she had read it and the answer was in Captain Underpants and the Cases of the Terrible Talking Toilets. This didn’t help me at all so I had her go find the word in the book so I could figure out what it meant. She knew just where it was. “See, Mommy? D E N Y. Denny.”

“Oh! DENY!”. That means saying you didn’t do something, like if I ask you if you read all of Captain Underpants and you say you didn’t.”

1 Response to "The perils of living with a reader."

My little brother (to our mother):”What means eagles?” ~~~~ Now you need to know this was long ago and the blue eagle, symbol of the US gov. was posted in every window. As she began to try to explain this complex idea, he interrupted: “No, no, 2 plus 3 eagles 5. What does eagles mean?

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Recent Preemie News

Archives

