The Continuing Adventures of SuperPreemie

In which we answer Shoshanna’s questions

Posted on: July 14, 2009

Strangers (and even friends) are often shocked at the kinds of questions that Shoshanna asks us. She famously turned to me in the middle of a dinner out with friends and asked, “Mama, why Eliot Spitzer got fired?” (Answer: because he broke the rules, and when you break the rules people generally think that you shouldn’t be allowed to be in charge of making the rules.) Last week when we were visiting Liz and Kaitlyn, Shoshanna asked me something about Kaitlyn’s “tubey tube” (what K called her now-removed g-tube) and in the next breath asked, “Mama, what’s Excalibur?” K’s grandfather overheard this exchange and just looked at me in a baffled kind of way. I shrugged and said, “Welcome to life with Shoshanna.”

Last Friday on the way home from the doctor she was asking me something about pee and poop, so we went online and I found kid-targeted articles about the digestive and urinary systems that I could easily digest (ha!) down to Shoshanna level.

Saturday she was asking about the weather (I think she wanted to know how we knew it was going to rain) and M showed her the radar map.

So often I hear parents blowing off kids’ questions. It’s HARD to make tough issues understandable to kids (a couple of weeks ago I explained bankruptcy, Keynesian economics, and something about ancient Rome all in the space of about 4 days), but on the other hand, I think giving them those answer encourages them to be curious about the world around them.

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos





More Photos

Recent Preemie News

Archives

